Unbound Gravel 2023

Hi everyone,

I realise this is a very early query given the 2023 lottery hasn’t even opened yet however for those that know they will be going in 2023, like myself due to a deferral or other means, or have been previously, I’m just wondering how everyone is approaching training or had approached it and whether it got you where you wanted to be in terms of fitness/prep for the event. Would you change anything? (tyres and kit will be a question for later! :sweat_smile:)

I’m new to the Fascat training community so I’ve been listening to lots of the awesome podcasts and have just committed (1 week in) to the new for 2022 30wk off season, weights and sweet spot (intermediate plan as I can’t easily commit to over 10hrs per week every week). This will prep me right up to the Traka 200K in Girona and then it’s about 4 weeks out from Unbound when I’ll possibly bolt on the Gravel specific (flat) plan for final race (read, survival!) training.

Anyone doing something different or see a major flaw in my plans?

This will be my first time at Unbound, or even riding 200miles on gravel. I live in Jersey in the Chanel Islands (a 9mile x5mile rock in the English Channel between south of England and France) so I do plenty of loops on the roads and turbo training and have very little real gravel to play on. I have however competed in BWR Cali twice and also the Rift in Iceland this year.

Thanks all!
Nick

1 Like