New Gravel Bike?

All, I thought I would post this question in hopes of getting some advice on which Cervelo Aspero model to buy. I am going to use my Fascat team discount to buy it through excel sports but since I am new to the gravel scene I thought I would go to the experts.

I really like the Aspero model for two reasons. A) Where I live we don’t have gnarly gravel routes. They are for the most part road/gravel mixes with rolling terrain or short punchy climbs B) I could easily use the Aspero as a back up road bike with a different set of wheel/tires.

I don’t see myself doing a ton of gravel because but I am looking for something to break up the seasons and have a bunch of fun with my friends. Until the gravel bug bites me of course! :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for any guidance you can pass my way!

Here are the three models that fit the budget:

1 Like

Awesome @PowerHungry - you will LOVE the Aspero.

Its fast and light like a road bike and can handle big volume tires** should you decide to take it off road. IOW you can use the Aspero as your road bike if you put on 28/30mm slicks.

**You may also put on up to 40-42mm tires for races like DK. AND if you want to really get rowdy you can also put a 650b wheelset on it and the bike essentially becomes a hardtail dropbar mountain bike. Lots of configuration options but above all the reason why I like the Aspero is bc its light and fast like a road bike which is primarily how the gravel races we do play out (like a long road race)

The Aspero’s in these links are all the same frame - its the Shimano components that different.

The 105 GRX 600 is heavier yet cheaper
the GRX 800 is Ultegra level which is lighter than the 105 600 yet $1000 more.

Both frames weight 900 grams (or thereabouts). You will like either AND you can also call ExcelSports 800 # and ask a salesperson if you have more q’s.

Enjoy!

3 Likes