Help choosing my first training plan

Hello FasCat community,
I am new to FasCat and will be starting my first plan in Optimize on January 1 after we get back from a holiday trip. I want to get all my ducks in a row to hit the ground rolling and need help choosing my first plan.

A little background, I am a fit 46 year old male and realitively new to cycling. Really just bitten by the bug last year. I have been doing a general strength and conditioning program. I want to continue some strength training alonside cycling, even if that is just a maintaince day during the summer. My A race will be a rather hilly century in August (week 34 of the year).

Now to the meat of the question, I have sketched out a couple ideas. a) I could start with the “16 week off season - weights and base”, then transition to the “Gran Fondo Training Plan.” Assuming the gran fondo plan is 16 weeks that would leave a two week taper. b) I could start with the shorter “Optimized at home weight lifting” for 10 weeks, then a shorter plan like the 6 week “Climbing Intervals” and then the “Gran Fondo.” c) something else I haven’t thought of.

Sorry for the long post. I am obviously a planner!

Gabe

1 Like

Planning is good, Gabe!!

You are thinking along the right track. Coach @suziesny has anew training plan coming out next week in Optimize that is the best of both worlds with regards to continuing strength training alongside your cycling training.

I recommend that for the first 16 weeks of the year. Then switch from base building to working on your threshold power with our Climbing Intervals plan - this is six weeks and will work on your threshold climbing for your hilly century. That is 22 weeks, total, so far.

Then I’d do 2-3 weeks of our sweet spot part 4 to work on your VO2 Max power to increase your threshold power even more and work on your LONG ride.