Tires for Tour of the Battenkill

Hi all,

Jumping right into it, I’ll be racing the Tour of the Battenkill in a few weeks. It’s about 75 miles with around 20 miles on tightly-packed dirt / gravel roads, some of which include steep (15%+ climbs). The rest of the race on pavement. Thanks to coach Jake for getting me ready to race.

What tires would be the ideal setup for going fast on pavement but being able to feel confident on dirt?

For reference, I’m a tire noob. I generally run 25mm Conti GP5000s and have 0 experience on unpaved roads. I have also never run tubeless. It seems many people are able to run tires like GP5000s for the Battenkill without any issue – and doing that is what I’m leaning towards.

But the race is also famous for having “the most flat tires” in any one-day USAC race. So, as a follow up, should I run tubes or tubeless?

And I’m planning to bring “back-up” tires in case rain is forecasted for the day of the race. What tire would you recommend if it’s raining and that dirt turns into mud? Again, something fast on pavement but able to get through loose dirt / mud / gravel now. My bike can accept up to 30mm.

Thanks so much for your help. Asking here because I know you all are experienced and some (including Jake?) may have raced the Battenkill before. Looking for a variety of opinions.

Interesting question!

From my experience racing Battenkill and plenty of other dirt road races, I’d say your best bet would be a tubeless, 28 mm tire that’s a good blend of fast rolling and puncture resistant. I’m actually not sure if the GP5000s are sold as tubless, but a 28 mm GP5000 would be a good bet if so.

I’m not sure I’d run anything different in the rain. For one, you can’t afford to run anything with tread, as it’ll just be way too slow on the pavement. For another, you don’t want to run something too wide and have the space between the tires and frame/fork pack with mud.

3 Likes