Time to analyse and adjust?

Hi all,
I’m in my second year of serious cycling - a Master (by age). I have done SS1 + 2 and seen significant progress.

I’m most of the way through SS3, however I have an unexpected weekend of climbing coming up in early December and I’d like to be I good shape.

I have already purchased the Road Racing intervals training plan which I haven’t used in anticipation of my summer rides here in Melbourne and the 3 peaks in February.

I’d be grateful for some analysis of my power, cadence plots (scatter plots for eg) to get my strategy right for hitting the hills and also managing 3 days with over 1,500 vm

Training Peaks and my notes are all ready to go.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

2 Likes

Hi!

Anthony,

Let me help you out and see what we can do.

First do you have a different power meter you use for indoors vs outdoors training? There are few rides where you power seems really high! You have even had rides where you are doing more than 100 TS Sper hour which isn’t possible. So the good news is you are riding strong and power is higher, but it would help to get that set accurate.

Here is a ride you did a couple weeks ago. Your norm power was 236 watts for an hour! This is 4% over your FTP! So not really possible, however there is a break in there so it looks like it wasn’t continuous. Also your average heart rate on this was lower than your field test just a week earlier.

How long are your climbing rides coming up in a few weeks? What are the climbs like in length and gradient? That would effect how you attack the ride and efforts.

So if you are peaking in February we might want to talk about your timing. Ideally before the biggest peak of your training year you would finish sweet spot 3 six 6 weeks for, just enough time to do the road racing interval plan.