Starting 18week SS with CTL @ 85

Hey all, I’ve been looking through previous posts but not found a full answer.

I’ve been hovering around 90-85 CTL for a couple months now after peaking at 104 earlier in the year.

I’m starting the 18week plan in 2 week and projections show my CTL tailing off.

Should I top up with zone 2 or just accept the drop is not a factor in the bigger picture?

Thanks

Dan

Hey Dan,
First, how significant is the drop and how long is it projected to fall for? Secondly, is the volume of the plan similar to what you have done/could handle in the past (e.g. how much TSS where you doing in previous weeks during the off season )?

I’ll also note that it is expected for power and CTL to drop during the off season, especially after taking a proper post season break . As you progress through that SS plan (the first 6 weeks are to get the ball rolling), the training load will increase and CTL will start to build. Think of it as one step backwards, to get two steps forwards :wink:

if you are already at 85-90 @dan.kendall you’d need to bump up your plan level, from basic to intermediate or from intermediate to advanced. More TSS is the only way to move an already high CTL, higher

Thank you both! I’ve figured out how to move the PMC chart further into future and I can see it starts building again.
I’ve been averaging 8-10 hours per week and tbh that’s about as much as I can get in, so I went for intermediate plan. Half of that time is the weekend as well.

I guess I’m just worried of wasting some of the base I’ve build this winter, last year my CTL was 35-40 until March when some enforced time off work allowed me to ride for longer for a few weeks and kept building it up of the rest of the year until Sep when it peaked at 104ish

image|690x387

Your CTL should be going up from where you are at today - therefore you may be in the wrong plan and not need sweet spot parts 1 & 2.

What are you training fro and when is it?