General question about weight training benefits

Hi all,

I am new to weight training this year and have general questions about how long the benefits last. Mostly just my own curiosity about this stuff…

• If we build muscle and train it to be stronger, how long do those gains last?
  • Does muscle mass/strength fall over the year, especially without maintenance lifting? (Not looking for an excuse to lift more, btw)
  • Should we expect FTP to drop off over the course of a long season?
  • Next winter, when I do the weights plan again, will I be starting from “zero” - i.e., start Adaptation phase with the 45lb bar, again, or should I start higher? I saw in the program notes that sprinters need at least two years of the plan to realize gains, but I am not - nor ever will be a sprinter. Looking at longer gravel events, primarily.

Just finished week one of hypertrophy, and I’m amazed how much easier the Friday workout felt than the Monday workout. These are tough workouts, but I’m feeling optimistic about the payoff!

Thanks for all you do, FasCat Team.

Interesting questions!

-Detraining to strength training begins to happen after about 3-4 weeks of ceasing strength training. However, the fall-off is gradual, and it’s likely that some of the workouts on the bike, especially explosive workouts like sprints, work as maintenance. My unscientific coach’s opinion is that if explosive (sprint) power is maintained, we’re doing things right.

Strength is also specific, so when you cease doing an activity like a squat, you’ll get worse at it. How much that matters to a cyclist is another question.

Finally, when you re-start strength training, your ‘strength’ will increase very rapidly back to previous levels, which is a sign that at some level, some of the adaptations from previous strength training hung around, whereas other adaptations come and go quickly.