Skillz for gravel racing

Good morning!
My background is entirely on the road but I recently purchased a gravel bike. I had a mountain bike once and it lasted about 6 months before realizing I just didn’t have the disposition to ride it (I wish I gave it more time and found the right people to help me learn but too late for all that). I have done a handful of rides and I really enjoy it. Gravel gives me what I hoped to get from mountain biking - an outdoor escape from pavement- with what I enjoy most on the road - long climbs. When it comes to the tricky parts though, ie ruts, washboards, holes, etc, I just kind of plunge forward and hope for the best. I was thinking I should add some handling work before I start my gravel plan and am looking for suggestions. What do you think? Or should I just get my handling experience on the grind?

With the people I know who seriously race gravel their experience they use actualy come from either mountain biking or Cyclocross. Have you done cyclocross at all? When decending on the gravel being comfortable with tire pressure changes for increased traction, letting the bike move under you and going with it versus forcing it and riding too stiff, and picking lines with better traction. IMO you can get the skills via the grind but find some buddies to join you who have the skill and let them go ahead of you and follow in their lines. I love gravel for the reasons you mentioned and just have fun!

1 Like

Thanks for the reply! No cyclocross experience either but that makes sense!

Handling Drills are very worthwhile. They can lead to better and faster learning than the trial by fire of learning on the grind, like you said.