Mid-SS plan FTP tests (the question that won't die)

This is my first year doing specific SS base training, and I’ve cobbled together the 18 week plan from the SS1, 2, and 3 individual plans following advice from the forum. I’m about to finish SS2 and move into SS3. So far my CTL has moved from low 20’s to upper-40’s! Based on my HR data at various wattage zones and feeling like I can ask more of my legs on the road, I’m pretty sure my FTP has increased since starting the plan (yay!). However, I have been pretty disciplined (no Zwift races or group-ride hero tactics) so I don’t have a 20 minute hard effort to judge a new FTP from normalized power. This brings me to two thoughts:

1. From podcast and forum info, I know it is not critical to re-test my FTP before starting SS3. I think this is due to that fact that during base training, my goal is to increase my volume and intensity. As long as I am getting more TSS each week (not counting rest weeks), I am still increasing my base and CTL. Is this good thinking?

2. In contrast, it seems very important to make sure my FTP setting is accurate when I switch from base to race (post SS3). It’s my understanding that for the race intervals it is important to hit specific wattages relative to your FTP to induce specific adaptations. If your FTP is not accurate at this time in training, you may not get the needed stress to get the desired response. Based on this I am planning to do an FTP test at the conclusion of SS3. This would still limit my formal FTP tests to two for the season (as is often mentioned in the podcast). I could rely on race/hard ride data over the summer to monitor any additional changes. Is this a good plan?

Thanks for your help on this never-ending topic :slight_smile:

Astute observations @patrick.frantom - however, when you begin your high intensity interval training there is really only one zone: as hard as you can. Full gas.

Sure it helps to pace your VO2’s but as hard as you can is your zone.