CX Saddles - How to Choose

I’m new to CX and in progress with the Summer Sweet Spot of the CX bundle. I’m looking to upgrade my saddle and integrate this into my training. 'Cross is so different from other cycling disciplines that I think saddle selection ought to reflect its unique techniques and demands. The saddle seems to be really important since we’re constantly off- and on and moving around while seated for traction, powering through sand and handling technical sections.

What are some thoughts on:

1. Length and width - shorter or longer than road
  2. Flex - stiff or soft shell. Do rail materials make a difference?
  3. Shape - narrow, normal or wide
  4. Covering - low friction or smooth. Amount of padding?
  5. Surface - flat, scooped or a mix

I have an opinion here and it might seem a bit old school and curmudgeon-y, but here goes. You do not need a 'cross specific saddle*. Use the saddle that works for you on your road, gravel or MTB. For example - for several years I used a Fizik Arione on ALL my bikes, including MTB. Even with “tail” it had at the time it was still fine for cross. I most recently use the same Ergon saddle on all of my bikes. (*There are some saddle surfaces that turn in to Velcro with lycra when they get muddy. This makes it difficult to move in to proper position when remounting or even when you moving on and off the saddle I do not know specific brands, but know this can happen)

1 Like

I 2nd Coach Brandon’s notion - I’ve never used a CX saddle.

I use the same as my road bike.

1 Like

Thanks for the advice. This approach would open up a range of possibilities. I have an Arione and a couple of different Selle Italia Flite Flows I can try out to replace the stock saddle, which my bike’s previous owner mounted but is a bit soft for my tastes.

Good plan! I always loved that Arione.

I’d say there are two important things in a cross saddle

1. it fits you, and you’re happy with it.