Submit your Podcast Q&A #16 Questions by Noon next Thursday, February 4th by 5pm

Greetings all you FasCats!

Its time for our regular Question and Answer #16 Podcast!! Please use this thread to ask your question for us to answer on air!

In this podcast format, we field all your questions here and try to answer them one by one during the podcast.

Use this thread to Ask your Question! The deadline for submission is Thursday February 4th @ 5pm mst . You may also email your question to help@fascatcoaching.com

The prize for the ‘Most Thoughtful Question’ will be announced here first!

I’m new to gravel and planning to do an event with a fair amount of descending including over a mile on a steep -9% descent. The roads in that area are hard packed dirt with some loose rock and washboarding. If I only have 2 weekends to practice with a rented gravel bike, what skills should I work on and is it worth doing a practice ride or two on the actual roads?

1 Like

With the rise of online coaching, I am sure there are a lot of listeners out there at different levels of cycling who are relatively new to being coached. There are tons of good podcasts out there on effective coaching. What I’ve yet to hear is tips for the newly coached. How about a short discussion of “do’s and don’ts, or tips and tricks, for the newly coached,” things that will help us maximize both our relationship with our coach and the gains we get out of being coached? Thanks!

4 Likes

Hey coaches, my question pertains to the philosophy of long term development (or lack thereof). I spent most of 2020 developing a bigger base like most cyclists. Unfortunately, I contracted Covid-19 and a lot of my “gains” went out the window although I’m still much stronger than where I started 2020 at.

A recent FastTalk podcast has me wondering what my long-term development should look like. I think it’s well known that riders hit their peak numbers early on, but I feel that I’m still far away from hitting those numbers.