What's next after 18 weeks Sweet Spot Training Plan

Hello!

I was listening to a few of your podcasts which I found very enlightening since I’ve been riding for about 4 years now and never train properly, but last year started doing some intervals on my own and see some great results from just a couple of months and even participate on a few races. Didn’t train or ride much this year due to work, family and illness.

I am from Dominican Republic and here they run a Master Road Race Season 2 to sometimes 3 races in a month which includes some criterium 40 to 50 minutes, short road races 50 to 60 kms and TT race from mid March to early September and then a couple of 3 stages races one at the end of October and the other one early November. Want to race the October one.

I am staring the 18 weeks SST base plan (never have done a base before, so excited about) which I would be finalizing at the end of February take a week off and switch to a 6 weeks Criterium Intervals Plan and probably do a couple of races along with the plan. Here are my questions:

1. What do I do after the six weeks Criterium Intervals Plan? Follow it with another plan like the 6 weeks road race intervals, repeat the Criterium Plan or do something else?
  2. Can I take a mid season break and start a six week SST plan to build my base again with another Six week road race intervals plan.

I know it’s a little complex for myself, but any guide would be apreciate it. By the way great podcast with great information without doing it too complicated.

Depends on what you are training for?!

Maybe especially if you are halfway thru your season and don’t have any important races coming up. When you take a mid-season break you are generally > 12 weeks from your next A race

First, thanks a lot for your quick answer,