What is the best plan that suites for my setup?

Hi Fascat team!

I am relatively new to cycling and to start with. Started only December 2020. I feel that I have a passion and heart to be a fast cyclist and wanting to join a race or races (Individual TT and TTT this June 2021) or even just riding with fast group rides. Having said that, since I thought of doing structured workout, I bought a smart indoor trainer (Elite Direto XR) which will be arriving sometime next week. Would like to ask all of you how will I go about my training with my current setup; Road bike with HR/Cad/SpdSensor and a smart trainer. I am a healthcare worker who works in a hospital doing shifts, so I don’t have the luxury to have a weekend off from work all the time to do the weekend long ride although I believe I can do 6-8hrs of training per week. To confirm;

1. Would I still be able to do the plan efficiently with more time using indoor smart trainer?
  2. Would I be able to train outdoor without power meter? If yes, how should I go about it?

With all that being said, I am 30 years old that weighs 58kg (127lbs) 167cm height and have been joining fast group rides for a number of times now after riding solo for the past 2 months. I do not know my power data and all the numbers, even my FTP but I am able to maintain and average speed of 35km/h (21mph) on flats and 40-42km/h (24-26mph) when drafting for at least 30mins but I have no idea how that counts to my current fitness. Longest ride was 110km solo.

As what the title says, what the best plan for my current setup? Although I feel like getting Sweet Spot plan is the first way to go? Please enlighten me. Thank you!!

Regards,
RoyG

1 Like

Hey @RoyG !!
Welcome to the world of bikes, it’s a pretty great place to be! (I know, I am a little biased :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:)