TTE v. mFTP v. 20 minute Power-Setting Zones

I started SST January 02 after a 8 week stretch of strength/core and JRA for fun. 20 minute protocol yielded about a 270W FTP. Fast forward to yesterday (Feb 04). I decided to do an impromptu 20 min protocol (warm up…5 min all out effort…then test) on my TT bike after a 4 day block of approximately 500TSS. I just wanted to see what I could do a bit fatigued. Average 20 min power was 316W.

Returning home and looking at the “FTP Contribution to TTE” chart in WKO+ my power at TTE is 263W on the PD curve and WKO+ has mFTP at 275.

I’ve been using both power and HR since 2007. Not that makes me an expert but, I know setting zones 5% less of the 20 minute overestimates zones for me. Setting zones to TTE power of 263 is also problematic as I’ve literally not done any max solo efforts much past 20 minutes this year. That leaves mFtp of 275…

Set zones with 263, 275 or 300?

1 Like

Hey Landis,

I would go with 275 watts.

Does your powermeter on your TT bike read higher? Just seems much higher than your test a month previous and after doing a 5 minute full gas effort. Also most can’t usually match power on TT bike compared to road bike, but regardless that is really beneficial that you can!

300 would be too much as you only have one effort that would truly show that is what your FTP is. More of an outlier at this point I feel. With WKO you also have to make sure to have the short hard efforts as pMax actually weights pretty heavily in the mFTP. So you would have to make sure to go outside and put out your best 15 second and 1 minute efforts. You have done a 5 minute and 20 minute so that is good. That will help the model.

Without doing longer efforts than 20 minutes it does hurt the TTE which maybe off because of it.