Training With Power > PowerMeters

Mega thread for everything related to training with power meters.

I just started on sweet spot and I’m starting to see the value in adding a power meter. What are the most popular meters out there?

I have been looking at Power2Max NG Eco because of the value proposition it seems to offer. Anyone have some experience with their meters?

You’ll get a lot of opinions on that questions.

Honestly I see the best value and consistently with the Quarq power meters. I’ve been using them since the beginning and really since 2011 haven’t had any issues with them. Also coach many athletes on them who haven’t had any issues either.

SRM is the gold standard but will be expensive. Stages tend to be the cheapest however occasionally see an issue with consistency and accuracy with those.

I do know one person with a Power2Max and he hasn’t had any issues with it and it has been consistent for a few years. Not sure the model on that one.

1 Like

To echo Coach @Jake’s thoughts you get what you pay for these days. I really only trust Quarq and SRM powermeters.

“The Bitterness of Poor Quality Remains Long After the Sweetness of Low Price is Forgotten” - to quote benjamin Franklin

I see this on a daily basis as I analyze power files from athletes who have wonky data or their powermeter isn’t working. Then there’s trust - do you trust those #'s? I trust SRM & Quarq but just about all pedal based powermeters I am not a fan.

The original powerTap HUB was terrific and scientifically validated.

2 Likes

Hi there. At the outset of my 18week SS training plan I was forced to perform my initial FTP test on the trainer, (wahoo kicker). It’ s now nice out and can do the next FTP test outdoors. This would mean a different power meter of course. Should I repeat my post plan test indoors for more accurate comparison, or do it outdoors?