Period and watts

I’ve been riding for a few years, however this is my first season training with power… so I’m learning a lot of new things about my body. I’m currently in SS 1 and I’m on my first regeneration week which also is about to coincide with my period.
I’ve been strong through all my SS intervals except the days leading up to and the first few days of my period. These few days I can not sustain watts and energy by drastic amounts. My z2 is hard to muster and forget about sustaining SS intervals for longer than 3-5 minutes… which still takes way more mental and physical strength than normal.
Yesterday’s regeneration plan was hold 180 for 9 minutes with 4.3 minutes at 118 recovery x 4.
Instead of continuing to push through frustration and impossible physical ability, I decided to just do what felt best or felt closest to z2 which was around 80-90 watts, but my normal z2 is 118-147 and I normally feel good riding just a few watts in the 150’s as well.
I’m very interested in learning more about this trend where my watts and power just drop for a few days leading to and the day(s) of period. Do other women experience this? Is it as extreme as my power weakness? How do women race “A” races if that day coincides with their weakest power output?

2 Likes

Hey @lindsay.marx !
I can absolutely promise you that you are not alone here and I am very glad that you brought this up as it is something we need normalize talking about. As Stacy Sim’s says… “Women are not small men, stop eating and training like one.” That is a bold statement, but it is true. Your diet and training plan need to be tailored to your cycle to use your hormones to your benefit, not your detriment.