How to make plans work

Hey everyone, I have really been trying to figure out how to make this work for me but it’s just not been happening so i’m looking for some tips.

I am a full time professional bicycle mechanic and store manager for a local bike shop as well as a single dad of a 7 year old (50/50 custody) and have her from friday afternoon until monday morning every week. This makes it essentially impossible for me to find a way to get the prescribed long rides in through the resistance/sweetspot plan that I have.

I’m really kind of at a loss right now and am beginning to wonder if a structured plan is really in my cards at this point in my life with work and my custody set up. Any tips will help! I am currently a cat 4 road/crit racer and am 35, I’m not racing to make a living (that opportunity was long ago but didn’t come to fruition) I’m just looking to improve and improve as a cyclist and continue to stay in shape or get in better shape for general health reasons.

Thanks everyone!

1 Like

I am in a similar situation with working full time and also 50/50 custody of 3 kids (9, 5 and 3 years old). I have them every other weekends. So a typical training plan is a little harder to follow as it’s not specific to your needs and schedule.

A few things you can do.

1. Hire a coach full time so you can get the one on one help to design a training plan that fits your needs best.

https://fascatcoaching.com/hire-a-coach/

1. You could get the coaching subscription that can help line up you your pre bought training plans and rearrange workouts every 6 weeks.
  1. Arrange the workouts on your own. There is an important flow to the workouts that you should try to adhere too. Such as completing the more intense days after rest days, endurance days mostly following interval days and etc.