Have I chosen the wrong follow up plan?

I am mid way through 18 weeks of sweet spot and I am loving it! This is the first time I have ever used a structured plan and, after having a couple years of cycling dictated to me by injury, I have seen huge benefits. So much so, I went ahead and purchased a follow up plan ‘intervals for road racing’ to take up off the back of this one - hoping to see continued growth.

I notice however that my CTL will drop if I take this plan up. I am due to finish 18 weeks of sweet spot at 80 CTL. After a rest week I would start the next plan at 70CTL and then slowly decline down to 65CTL. Is this normal or have I chosen the wrong plan? My aim for the year is to peak late June, I would finish intervals for road racing mid April and I wonder if I should still be building at this point in the year?

Complete noob so any advice appreciated.

I have the same observation. SS Base Intermediate takes my to CTL to 80 and the end of the plan and the A event, after 6 week Fondo Intermediate plan, is 68.

You really would like your peak CTL to be 2 - 4 weeks before your A race. Then you begin your taper, race specific efforts and rest becomes more important so CTL will drop.

Looking at the weekly TSS going from the Sweet spot plan to the interval plan is the first 2 weeks of those is considerably less. The sweet spot plan is all about raising the CTL and building fitness. The interval plan is not.

Going from sweet spot to the Fondo plan you could add a little TSS in the first two weeks but the goal is more towards putting in big weekend simulation rides and you want to be ready for those.

Going from sweet spot to the interval plan you want less TSS overall in the interval plan because you want to be fresh for the high intensity efforts. Those take a lot to complete and you want to be going full gas. So the duration and overall TSS is less causing a drop in CTL.