Eliminating some foods

i’m in the process of some lifestyle diet changes. I want to cut out some foods in my diet and make some changes little by little. I feel if i do everything at once or cold turkey i will fail.

As a professional what do you think 2-3 foods or other things we consume has humans that would be best to cut from our diets?

about me: I’m a professional chef in a hotel and eat a bit of everything… Of course i’m around food all day long… Good food, bad food all kinds of delicious stuff. :pizza: :hamburger: :croissant:

If you were giving advice to someone you don’t know what would you ask them to try to eliminate for a healthier lifestyle and possibly give them a better chance for improving performance?

Hey @drlibasci !
Congrats on making the decision to eat better and improve your lifestyle.
As a dietitian, I can without a doubt tell you that the best changes to make are ones that you can maintain for the long haul. Eliminating entire food groups is typically not a change that most people can sustain.
Moreover I don’t believe in labeling foods as “good and bad” as there can be a place for “bad foods.”

For example, eating gummy bears while sitting at your desk is not “good” but eating Gu chews on a ride is good for your performance. Also foods super high in sodium are not good for the lay person, but for athletes they can play a key role in replacing electrolytes lost through sweat.

That said there are some foods you should try to decrease your consumption of like:

• Trans fats (usually labelled on ingredients lists as “partially hydrogenated oils”). These raise your bad cholesterol and lower your good cholesterol.
  • Foods high in saturated fat (aka fatty meats, processed meats, cheese)
  • Foods you don’t enjoy eating
  • Foods you are allergic/ intolerant to :wink:
  • Foods with excessive amounts of added sugar (outside of ride nutrition and post ride recovery)