CTL Build to 200 miles Gravel Race

HI guys - newbie here so grant me some grace :wink: I am 13 weeks out from a 200 mile gravel race and decided to use the Sweet Spot Build and Gravel plans back to back. I already have a substantial base established so am somewhat confused when I reviewed the CTL ā€œbuildā€ line in Training Peaks. In early January and through early February, my CTL was at 79 and holding steady (not increasing and the reason for turning to Fascat). But as I loaded both plans, my projected CTL hits 72 (May 15th) before tapering to 53 for the event. Am I misinterpreting CTL? Is this really setting me up for success? I know FTfP, but donā€™t want to be underprepared! Any help is appreciated - thanks.

3 Likes

Welcome @cmp2126 - you are on the right track , one thought:

If youā€™re CTL was already high (79) and you applied the intermediate plan - you should apply the advanced plan(s) which have more volume and will progress your CTL higher

Not entirely sure that is it but thatā€™s where I would start to get your CTL higher.

2 Likes

Hi, @cmp2126 The form (TSB) is your fitness(CTL) less fatigue(ATL).
If I am trying to get fitter I try to create stress by increasing training load (fatigue higher than fitness) resulting in negative form.
Reduce training ahead of important races (positive form) and in periodic rest, weeks to recover

1 Like

Same here, man. I was advised to up the CTL, one must ride longer ; as long as it doesnā€™t interfere with workouts down the line.

1 Like

Thanks Frank - that appears to be the issue as I selected the Intermediate plans when purchased - Can you assist in getting both changed to the Advanced Plans?

1 Like

Send us an email: helpatfascatcoachingdotcom and @Lacey_Rivette will swap those out for you

Hope that helps and gā€™luck with your training!

1 Like

@cmp2126 You donā€™t even have to shoot me an emailā€¦ I already swapped them out for ya!

3 Likes