12 weeks, but possibly unrealistic weeks?

Hello, I am new to FasCat, started working with the system just this past December 3rd.

I came in with decent form, having been doing a few weeks of intervals and sweet spot workouts from another vendor. I have only 12 weeks until my first “A” event (March 13). I know that event might not happen due to covid restrictions, but I would like to train for it as if it is, and I will ride a solo/virtual event in its place if it’s cancelled.

I purchased the 18 weeks of Sweet Spot and the gravel grinder. My thought was, after figuring out how to use the Fascat/Training Peaks “system” for a couple of weeks, and sitting 12 weeks out from the event, I would do the middle six weeks of 18 weeks SS followed by the six week gravel grinder for a neat 12 weeks heading into the event date.

I have plugged that into Training Peaks and started into it, but after listening to Frank’s podcast on the Performance Manager Chart, I am a little worried because there are a couple of weeks with really big CTL jumps. The biggest increase is 9 from one Monday to the next. I believe that Frank said he likes to keep his weekly CTL gains around 3 or 4 per week, and that is (obviously) more than twice that.

Maybe this is an artifact of my CTL starting on December 3rd at 10, even though I had been training prior to that, just because that’s the first date of training data that is entered into Training Peaks.

The plan seems to finish up as recommended. The overall CTL isn’t very high (peaking at 71 two weeks before the event) but on event day, my TSB is 20, which is right around what Frank said he views as ideal.

Anyhow, that was king of longwinded, but any thoughts on whether the really big weekly increases are realistic or sustainable (or on whatever else) are appreciated. I do want to learn how to make this work!

Thanks, all.
John